Why Meditative Games?

Zeynab Mirzadeh
2 min readSep 5, 2021

--

As a child, I had vulnerability to get addicted to video games. I remember we had a toy for playing a video game and there was always a fight between my brother and I for playing that. I did not know its name at that time and recently I‘ve found its name was Tetris. I remember I got addicted to the game and even when I closed my eyes and wanted to sleep, I was still playing that in my mind.

Later, my father bought a computer and again I got addicted to another game which was installed on it. It was so much better than the previous one with a wonderful story and beautiful art style. It was Harry Potter! I remember I was playing that from morning to the night, non stop without eating anything and I almost went crazy playing that. It lasted all summer, and thanks God, schools were open and I had to stop playing that for going to school.

Maybe I could escape from video games that could control my mind but still I was surrounded by constant distraction. I understood I need a tool and wisdom to take control of my mind. I did a lot of research for that and I’ve found meditation and yoga as a powerful tool to achieve this goal. I’ve started to learn it and practice it. Quite the opposite of the games, it was very difficult to get addicted to that. In the beginning, I’ve tried a lot to continue my practice, and as I knew how much advantage it has for me, I overcame many inner barriers to bring it into my lifestyle as a daily practice.

I got my master degree in computer engineering. I had so much passion for yoga and meditation and I was looking for a way to merge it with technology where my knowledge in computer could be aligned with my passion in meditation.

I had this dream in my heart for few years and finally I’ve found the place for them to converge. Video Games! I’ve found the things I had so much vulnerability to get addicted to, could be the best option for presenting meditation through technology. Its addiction ability could be very helpful for developing boring skills. Voilà! It was my journey into the game industry. Later, I’ve found a lot of great games for improving a child’s brain activity, and now I believe games are the most powerful tools to develop human skills.

PachaMama

--

--

Zeynab Mirzadeh

I am a game designer focused on developing mindfulness games. Writing about life wisdom which I am receiving to create my authentic path through my life journey